Department & more

Originally founded in 1391 by Marquis Alberto V d'Este, since 2012 the Faculty of Law of the University of Ferrara has been reorganized in the current Department of Law.

The Department of Law continues its tradition as an outstanding and lively centre of scientific research, coupled with excellent teaching and a friendly environment, where exchange students and visiting scholars can easily feel at home.

Approximately 1.500 students are regularly enrolled at the Department; in 2017-18, they were joined by 80 incoming students from 15 countries.

The Department of Law – member of the European Law Faculties Association – has concluded a wide network of agreements relating to student mobility and staff exchanges, involving partners in Europe and elsewhere.

The Department also runs a satellite campus in Rovigo, 40 km North of Ferrara.